Over 20 editors join NPC-Macrokiosk Muhibbah Awards judging panel

A total of 28 editors from media establishments in Malaysia have joined the panel of judges for the first-ever National Press Club of Malaysia (NPC)-Macrokiosk Muhibbah Awards, beginning this month.

From this pool of media editors, five will be entrusted to evaluate the nominees shortlisted each month.

This award series, organised by the NPC and enterprise solutions platform provider Macrokiosk, recognises individuals, groups or organisations that best embody the true spirit of Muhibbah in Malaysia.

The panel will decide on the award, conferred monthly, on individuals and organisations whose courageous deeds and selfless acts have made an impact on the nation and its people.

The 28 judges are:
• Astro: Vincent de Paul, vice-president news & editorial advisor Astro Awani;
• Astro Awani: Ashwad Ismail, SAVP, news and current affairs;
• Berita Harian: Datuk Ahmad Zaini Kamaruzzaman, group editor, and New Straits Times Press Group Managing Editor;
• Berita Harian: M. Thillinadan, deputy group editor;
• Berita Harian: Kamarulzaidi Kamis, business editor;
• Bernama: M. Saraswathi, business editor;
• Bernama: Zaharin Mat Noor, online editor;
• Bernama TV: Gerard Ratnam, executive producer;
• Focus Malaysia: Cheah Chor Sooi, executive editor;
• Free Malaysia Today: Frankie D’Cruz, editor-at-large;
• Makkal Osai: B.R. Rajan, news editor;
• Malaysia-China Insight Trilingual News: Datuk Keith Li, founder;
• Malaysian Insight: Jahabar Sadiq, editor;
• Media Prima TV Networks: Kamaruddin Mape, group editor, news and current affairs;
• New Straits Times: Farrah Naz Karim, group editor;
• New Straits Times: Sharanjit Singh, executive editor (content and digital);
• New Straits Times: Zuraimi Abdullah, business editor;
• New Straits Times: Ahmad Najmuddin Najib, associate editor (digital and print);
• RTM: Suhaimi Sulaiman, director-general of broadcasting;
• RTM: Norismadi Abd Manap, Sukan RTM head of channel and Sportswriters Association of Malaysia president;
• Sin Chew Media Group: Chan Aun Kuang, executive editor-in-chief;
• Sinar Harian: Datuk Hussamuddin Yaacub, managing editor;
• The Mole: Datuk Nuraina Samad, managing editor;
• The Star: Esther Ng, chief content officer;
• The Star: Jagdev Singh, business editor;
• The Star: Philip Golingai, news editor;
Twentytwo13: Pearl Lee, managing editor; and
• Utusan Borneo: Lichong Angkui, chief editor.

In welcoming these editors on board, NPC president Datuk Ahirudin Attan said the club was fortunate to have the support of the media fraternity for this award series.

“We are grateful for the support and cooperation shown by these esteemed editors across all languages and segments,” Ahirudin said.

“These judges represent the diverse Malaysian media fraternity, symbolising the spirit of muhibbah that the NPC is trying to revive in Malaysia,” he added.

Macrokiosk chief executive officer, Datuk Kenny Goh, in expressing his appreciation for the support and response from the senior editors, said: “We are deeply honoured that these busy editors have come together to form the panel of judges.”

“Their task in evaluating nominations is central to the success of this award series, as we set out to make a difference in Malaysian society and bring back the spirit of muhibbah. We look forward to engaging, and to the productive sessions in the months ahead,” Goh added.

The monthly winner (individual/organisation) will receive RM2,000. The winners will also receive vouchers from tea brand Tealive, fresh market brand Jaya Grocer, and natural yoghurt brand llaollao.

The public are also invited to be a part of this project. They can send their nominations to muhibbah@macrokiosk.com or WhatsApp https://chat.whatsapp.com/K739FdIOnqCCti0aOGnFFv