Arsenal hoping for an EPL miracle, but it’s City’s title to lose

The English Premier League ends on May 19 in one of the closest-ever races to the title, although Manchester City is the favourite as it leads the table with 88 points, two points ahead of Arsenal.

However, the Gunners have a much better goal difference. As such, City, on a 22-game unbeaten streak, needs nothing less than a win to be sure of a title. Should City draw with West Ham, Arsenal could win the title with a win over Everton.

Since the dawn of the EPL in 1992, there has only been one occasion that saw the title decided on goal difference. The ‘Agueroooooo Moment’ saw Manchester City pip its neighbour Manchester United to the crown after both teams finished the 2011-2012 season on 89 points.

City, however, had a plus 64 goal difference, while United ‘only’ had plus 56.

The title looked destined to go to Old Trafford 12 years ago as United won 1-0 at Sunderland. City was 2-1 down to Queens Park Rangers but scored twice in injury time, including the winner from Sergio Aguero four minutes into time added on.

The other closest finish in the EPL included 1994-1995 when Blackburn (89 points), pipped United (88), 1998-1999 (Manchester United 79, Arsenal 78), 2007-2008 (United 87, Chelsea 85), 2009-2010 (Chelsea 86, United 85), 2013-2014 (Manchester City 86, Liverpool), 2018-2019 (Manchester City 98, Liverpool 97), 2021-2022 (Manchester City 93, Liverpool 92).

As history shows, City is no stranger to close finishes, and as such, knows what it must do to become the first English club in history to win the top division title for four consecutive seasons.

Besides City, only Huddersfield Town (1924-1926), Arsenal (1933-1935), Liverpool (1982-1984), and Manchester United (1999-2001 and 2007-2009) have won three consecutive top-flight titles.

United narrowly failed to make it four in 2010, losing the crown by a point to Chelsea.

Dare we hope for another ‘Agueroooooo Moment’ on May 19?


Jurgen Klopp manages his final game for Liverpool when the Merseyside club hosts Wolves on May 19.

The German turned “doubters into believers” after winning the Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup (2019), EPL (2020), FA Cup (2022), and League Cup (2022, 2024). Liverpool also won the Community Shield in 2022.

Klopp rebuilt the Liverpool midfield this season after the exits of Jordan Henderson, Fabinho, Naby Keita, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and James Milner.

In came Alexis Mac Allister, Ryan Gravenberch, Dominik Szoboszlai and Wataru Endo, and many expected the club to struggle, but not only did Liverpool top the EPL for several weeks, it also added the League Cup.

There was talk of a quadruple in January but defeats to Manchester United in the FA Cup, Atalanta in the Europa League, and a dropoff in form in the EPL ended further chances of glory.

Although Klopp has one league title, he will leave highly regarded by those who support Liverpool.

It will be a tearful farewell for the ‘Normal One’, but he leaves behind a good first-team squad with some incredible youngsters waiting to come through the door.

Danke, Herr Klopp.

FIXTURES (11pm, Malaysian time)
Arsenal vs Everton
Brentford vs Newcastle
Brighton vs Manchester United
Burnley vs Nottingham Forest
Chelsea vs Bournemouth
Crystal Palace vs Aston Villa
Manchester City vs West Ham
Liverpool vs Wolves
Luton vs Fulham
Sheffield United vs Tottenham