City to claim title, Newcastle can book Champions League spot

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and Newcastle’s Eddie Howe are two of six bosses in contention to win the English Premier League Manager of the Season award.

The other nominees are Mikael Arteta (Arsenal), Roberto De Zerbi (Brighton), Unai Emery (Aston Villa) and Fulham’s Marco Silva.

Guardiola’s team can clinch the EPL crown with a win over Chelsea on Sunday (11pm) or if Arsenal fails to beat Nottingham Forest tomorrow (10pm).

Manchester City is also in the finals of the Champions League and FA Cup competitions, where it faces Inter Milan and Manchester United, respectively.

While Guardiola is on the verge of a historic treble, Howe is many people’s bet to win the manager’s award.

He is on the verge of leading Newcastle back to the Champions League for the first time since the 2002-2003 season after beating Brighton 4-1 on Friday morning.

The result means Newcastle needs three points from its two remaining matches to qualify for the Champions League.

Newcastle faces a free-falling Leicester on Tuesday (3am). Victory would guarantee it a ticket to the Champions League.

However, two draws from as many matches could still see Newcastle qualify, as it has a vastly superior goal difference over Manchester United and Liverpool.

Manchester City and Arsenal have already booked their slots, with fourth-placed Manchester United (66 points) and fifth-placed Liverpool (65 points) fighting for the last ticket.

United has the upper hand on Liverpool, as it has a game in hand, while it also has its eyes on the FA Cup final.

The Red Devils won the League Cup in February, but surprisingly, Erik ten Hag was missing from the Manager of the Season nominees.

Fixtures (Malaysian time)

Tottenham vs Brentford (7.30pm)
Liverpool vs Aston Villa (10pm)
Wolves vs Everton (10pm)
Bournemouth vs Manchester United (10pm)
Fulham vs Crystal Palace (10pm)

Nottingham Forest vs Arsenal (12.30am)
West Ham vs Leeds (8.30pm)
Brighton vs Southampton (9pm)
Manchester City vs Chelsea (11pm)

Newcastle vs Leicester (3am)